Aside from costumes and frights, candy is a basic requirement for Halloween. The good news is vegan Halloween candy IS a thing, and we’re here to tell you what you need to know for all your vegan candy needs.
If you’re new to the vegan lifestyle or even a seasoned pro, deciphering which candies you and cannot eat can be a bit tricky.
Many classic Halloween candies you probably loaded up on as a kid are made with milk and animal products – Snickers, Reese’s, Kit Kat bars, etc. As a general rule, if it’s a milk chocolate product, you can bet it’s off limits.
But there are also sneakier ingredients that are often animal-derived. Candy corn, for example, is often gelatin-based which is an ingredient that comes from cows or pigs.
Many other gummy candies and nearly all marshmallows (meaning Rice Krispy treats, too) are often made with gelatin.
For more on the real-life-scariness that is food labels, read this helpful guide to deciphering ingredient labels so you know what to avoid – vegan or not!
And even if it’s free of gelatin or milk products, many other candies get their coloring from animal products, which are harder to spot on an ingredient list. One such culprit is carmine – a commonly used red-pigment that is made from crushed insects!
Icked out yet? Fear not!
There are still plenty of vegan Halloween candy options for you that don’t require you to be a professional label-decoder.
5 Vegan Halloween Candies You Can Find At Any Grocery Store:
Since no one wants to spend their Halloween evening scouring ingredient labels, we’ve done the work for you and rounded up 5 common and delish vegan candy options that are 100% vegan!
Skittles are a great anytime-of-the-year treat, but can definitely be enjoyed all you want on Halloween, no checking the ingredient label required.
Side note: Want to enjoy Skittles in a slightly more adult-friendly way? Skittles-infused vodka is a delicious treat and the perfect Halloween drink to make ahead of time and bring to a party.
2. Sour Patch Kids
If gummy candies are your go-to, Sour Patch kids will be your new BFF. Not only are they perfectly tangy and sweet, they’re totally vegan, come in a variety of flavors, and are generally a crowd pleaser. So grab a bag to share!
Whether you chose to enjoy them plain or use them as a straw (perfect for a Halloween party!), Twizzlers are totally vegan-friendly, as well as being totally addictive. Don’t say we didn’t warn you.
4. Blow Pops
Lollipops are almost always included in Halloween candy mixes. These bubble-gum filled pops are totally vegan, making them a great vegan candy pick.
If you’re trick or treating or have kids who are, your odds of picking up at least a few mini boxes of Dots are pretty good, and you can enjoy them all you want, since they’re also not made with gelatin or any animal products.
There’s No Shortage of Vegan Halloween Candy!
How will be you be getting into the Halloween spirit this year? Whether you’re staying in or going out, try out this appropriately spooky yoga flow to zen out and get in the mood.
And remember to enjoy treating yourself, sans guilt – we all deserve a sweet treat now and again, vegan or not, so enjoy your spooky and sweet night, however you like to celebrate! Enjoy your vegan candy!!
This article has been read 504 times. Share it and spread the love!